Water Table Planter

We’ve had our trusty water table for about 5 years. It has a big crack in one side, which makes it pretty useless. I decided this year to help my girls turn it into a planter.

038

First, I had to make more holes in the bottom for the water to drain. I tried using a hammer and nails, but the plastic was too thick. So, it quickly escalated to a pickaxe, which was very efficient. I put several small cracks throughout, without destroying the support.

Next, we filled it this soil, planted our seeds and watered them.

041

I had the girls top it with wood chips.

045

Now, we just wait for the flowers and herbs to sprout.

050

I think next year we will paint the water table a bright solid color.

Leave a Reply

