Morning Memoirs

I’m not a morning person, never have been. My children, like most, wake up early. They occasionally come in my room at 6am with the intent to wake me up, but not often. I tend to be a little grumpy, plus I need my 15 minutes of waking up (in bed) to become a human being again. Most mornings, I get out of bed slowly when I hear that my girls are awake. I don’t even know how to properly respond to some of the things I’ve walked in on.

I’ve decided to start documenting that moment of dread. Sharing it with the world might make it a little easier to handle, and funnier in the moment. One morning, I woke up to a naked 2 year old jumping up and down on her potty, and my 5 year old singing to herself in the mirror. I realized at that moment how important it is that I keep a camera with me at all times. So, from here on out, I’ll be taking a picture of what I wake up to every morning.

Here’s the first:

photo

My oldest nicely playing with her chore chart. My 2 year old sitting on the table, admiring the (breakable) decorations. I rate this morning: Mild.

Leave a Reply

