When I Grow Up

I was watching HGTV yesterday and I’ve finally decided, for the 611th time, what I want to be when I grow up. I want to up-cycle furniture and antiques! Why not? I just need to learn some basic wood working skills, painting skills, and maybe overcome my fear of power tools. Okay, maybe quilting? It’s something I roughly know how to do. My mom taught me as a kid. Sure, my sewing machine only works when my mom’s in town to help me fix it and I can’t sew a straight seam to save my life, but there should be some YouTube videos out there to help me, right? In all honesty, I really don’t realize how ridiculous I sound, until I type it up and read it myself. It all sounds sarcastic now….weird. I grew up with amazing parents, who spoiled me rotten, told me how beautiful I was, and assured me that I could be anything I wanted to be when I grew up. That shit really sticks with you. Now I’m an average looking adult, who oozes confidence, expects A LOT from other people, and who still hasn’t decided on a life path quite yet. Sure, I’m married to the man of my dreams and I have 2 beautiful children, but I’m a very selfish person. I want things for myself, engaging things that don’t involve Disney princesses. At this point in our lives, I’m still trying to get one kid off to school and the other out of diapers, but someday I hope for more. Maybe I won’t achieve greatness, maybe I won’t help anyone in the long run, but at this point, I’d just be happy to learn something new. Something that motivates me to step away from the screen. (Oh, and I know what you’re thinking, but I just don’t think Mary Kay can fix this one.)

Leave a Reply

