Step away from the scale.

With our upcoming trip to Hawaii, my husband and I want to look good in our summer clothes. Sure we only have 2 weeks, but we needed the motivation to start living healthier. I’ve done Zumba for the past 3 days, and yesterday I got ambitious and did 50 squats  ….now I can barely walk. We’ve been cooking up veggies with dinner and trying to stay out of all the yummy sweets left over from Christmas.

I want this to be a new lifestyle for us. I want to never get lazy and forget that it actually feels good to get a little exercise, but mostly, I just want healthy food to start tasting good. …Does that happen? I love food more than most, and with my high metabolism, it’s just now really starting to catch up with me. Trust me, I know how lucky I’ve been. I just want a candy bar or a cookie so bad. I feel like an addict. In fact, I think I may just be a food addict. I’m in a terrible mood when I can’t eat what I want. It’s like I get depressed over zucchini, which I actually like, but I’d rather have a giant piece of chocolate layer cake.

It’s going to be hard, but at the edge of 30 years old, a change is needed. My body just doesn’t keep up as well as it used to if I only feed it cookies and sit on my ass most of the day. I’ve had high blood pressure and migraines for 4 years now, and I feel like it’s all what I’ve put in my body. People usually make the assumption that I’m healthy, because I’m not overweight. I just want to shake them and tell them that “thin” isn’t always “healthy”.

Everyone around me made me think that it was fine for me to eat whatever I wanted growing up because I was thin. In fact, I was encouraged to eat unhealthy foods just to gain weight. My pediatrician advised my parents to feed me chocolate milk shakes and anything else I wanted to get me to gain. By the time I went to college, I was living off rolls of cookie dough and McDonald’s. I was like a walking time bomb. My friends would go to the gym and I would sit and talk to them, rather than work out. I had the same view of my health that society had. I was healthy because I was thin.

Don’t worry, I wouldn’t call myself “thin” anymore. Now I’m a good solid “curvy”. In reality, I think we as women put too much emphasis on our weight and not enough on our health. I try to never obsess about my weight or act like I’m uncomfortable with my appearance, because I have 2 very impressionable little girls who are still learning about their world and the way it works. They look at me and follow my lead in everything I do right now. I want them to be confident. I want them to have a good body image. I want them to say “My Mom always looked beautiful.”, because they will as long as they know that I thought I was beautiful.

I figured something out in high school, and I hope to share this idea with my daughters: People will think of you how you think of yourself.

I know it’s a hard thing to do, but if you can change your own mind about your self-worth and your beauty, others will change their minds about you too. It’s like confidence oozes out of us, and people tend to be drawn to whoever has the most. I’m not saying we should be arrogant or stuck-up. I’m saying we should care about ourselves first and get our heads around a healthy self-image. Not everyone looks the same, and that’s a good thing. I like the way I look, but I know I need to be healthier. I think it’s better for my girls to see me eating healthy foods and exercising, especially since they’re skinny-minis like I was. I want them to understand what healthy really means before they’re grown.

So, my goals are to eat healthier, excersice more, step away from the scale, and love the body I’m in.

Leave a Reply

