Getting Started

PP1

Background: We had our first beautiful baby in August 2009, and our lives changed forever. She became our world and we questioned everything we handed her. Reading labels was a real eye opener about what we were putting in our bodies. We still weren’t quite ready to change our whole lifestyle (the first step is admitting you have a problem, and we couldn’t get there). Fast forward to 2012, when we had our second and last child, and now I think we’re a little more educated on the “food” subject. We even have friends who have changed the way they eat dramatically and swear by a more vegetarian lifestyle.

There are several changes that I hope to make in this process, not just involving food, but I think our eating habits seem like the most daunting. I have a love affair with food. I even tend to dance a little when enjoying a marvelously unhealthy meal. Yes, food makes me THAT happy. I think it’s safe to say that I enjoy good (tasting) food more than anything else in life. It’s amazing that I don’t weigh 400 lbs… while we’re on the subject, I currently weigh 153 lbs (I’m 5′ 7″). I’m still nursing my 7 month old, and I’ve used that as an excuse to not change my diet for a while.

Another challenge, with our family specifically, is allergies. In an attempt to eat healthier, I’ve discovered that I’m allergic to Soy. My husband is deathly allergic to Peanuts and has many other food allergies, which include all tree nuts, eggs, bananas, cucumber, and watermelon. Our oldest daughter, who is 3, is deathly allergic to high concentrations of egg. Neither of them will touch beans.

Can you see why this process might be hard, and maybe even prove impossible for me? Well, that’s why I have a plan, and here it is:

The Goal: Add healthy lifestyle choices into our everyday routine in order to push out the unhealthy choices.

Issues that need to be slowly addressed:

  • Eating Habits (Shift towards cleaner, more natural foods.)
  • Gardening (To help promote better eating habits.)
  • Budgeting (Save! Save! Save!)
  • Time For Family (Lets make it count.)

Starting Out

Add: Juicing (need to buy a juicer first), get to the gym, make a new and improved grocery list, buy seeds to plant in the garden (there’s still snow on the ground, so planting has to wait), watch less TV, and spend more time doing other things as a family.

Eat Less: Cheese, Meat (chicken & pork especially), Breads, and DESSERTS (OH, THE HORROR!).

I made myself watch Hungry For Change and Vegucated to help jump-start this process for myself (both movies are available on netflix). I’m trying to convince my husband to watch them so we can be on the same page and discuss the issue with the same information. However, I’m not sure that he’s ready for the “in your face” approach, and that’s something you have to be ready for. I appreciated the information provided in both movies, but I did have to keep in mind that the main speakers are extremists. Some of their analogies were actually offensive, and I’m a hard person to offend. Like I said before though, I’m IN LOVE with my food.

We have scheduled our youngest daughter for the gym daycare on Tuesday (no turning back). I plan to ride a bike for 30 min and then lift weights for another 30 min. Lets see if it happens, shall we?

Leave a Reply

